2018 Winners

Congratulations to all the winners of the 22nd annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards  listed below. Professional Journalist Members of the JJA made open nominations in a first selection round; those who received the most nominations advanced to the final ballot.
2018 Nominees in all categories

Awards shown in photo are for 2014

BUY TICKETS FOR 2018 Awards Party
June 12 4pm NYC


Lifetime Achievement in Jazz

Benny Golson

Musician of the Year:
Matt Wilson photo

Matt Wilson

Up and Coming Musician of the Year:

Jazzmeia Horn

Composer of the Year

Maria Schneider

Arranger of the Year:

Maria Schneider

 Record of the Year:

Honey and Salt: Music Inspired by the Poetry of Carl Sandburg
Matt Wilson

Historical Record of the Year:

Les Liaisons Dangereuses - 1960
Thelonious Monk

Record Label/Platform of the Year:

Resonance Records

Male Vocalist of the Year:

Kurt Elling

Female Vocalist of the Year:

Cecile McLorin Salvant

Large Ensemble of the Year:

Maria Schneider Orchestra

Jazz Band of the Year: 

Vijay Iyer Sextet

Trumpeter of the Year:

Tom Harrell  

Trombonist of the Year:
Wycliffe Gordon

Wycliffe Gordon   

Multi-reeds Player of the Year:

Roscoe Mitchell

Alto Saxophonist of the Year:

Miguel Zenon

Tenor Saxophonist of the Year:

Chris Potter  


Baritone Saxophonist of the Year:

Claire Daly

Soprano Saxophonist of the Year:

Jane Ira Bloom

Flutist of the Year:

Nicole Mitchell

Clarinetist of the Year:

Anat Cohen

Mary Halvorson
Guitarist of the Year:

Mary Halvorson

Pianist of the Year:

Fred Hersch

Keyboards player of the Year:

Dr. Lonnie Smith

Bassist of the Year:

Linda May Han Oh

Violinist/Violist/Cellist of the Year: 

Tomeka Reid

Percussionist of the Year:

Zakir Hussain

Mallets Instrumentalist of the Year:

Joe Locke

Traps Drummer of the Year:

Jack DeJohnette  

Player of Instruments Rare 
in Jazz of the Year:

Gary Versace, accordion  

Each of the above 2017 JJA Jazz Award winners for music will receive the Award at one of his or her upcoming performances.

BUY TICKETS FOR 2018 Awards Party
June 12 4pm NYC

2018 JJA Jazz Awards for Journalism and Media

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism

Patricia Willard

Jazz Periodical of the Year
(category combines the previous Jazz Publication of the Year and Jazz Website of the year categories)

Jazz Blog of the Year
JazzWax by Marc Myers

Jazz Book of the Year

Good Things Happen Slowly  (Crown Archetype)
 by Fred Hersch

Robert Palmer-Helen Oakley Dance Award for Excellence in Writing in 2017
Nate Chinen

The Marian McPartland - Willis Conover Award
for Career Excellence in Broadcasting

Neil Tesser

The Lona Foote -- Bob Parent Award 
for Career Excellence in Photography
Michael Jackson

Jazz Photo of the Year

Photographer: Richard Conde

Subject: Roy Haynes
view larger/photo info

Jazz Album Art of the Year 

Artwork by Simon Grendene
for Morphogenesis 
by Steve Coleman’s Natal Eclipse (Pi Recordings)

BUY TICKETS FOR 2018 Awards Party
June 12 4pm NYC

2018 Nominees in all categories 

2018 JJA Jazz Heroes were also named  in twenty locales around the U.S. 

You can help the Jazz Journalists Association continue to get the word out about jazz through programs like the JJA Jazz Awards. Please make a donation. Contributions of any size, no matter how small, are gratefully accepted. Or become a JJA Member. Membership is open to jazz musicians, educators, presenters, promoters, publishers or anyone who wants to support our work as well as professional jazz journalists. For further information contact President@JazzJournalists.org Thanks.