2016 JJA Jazz Awards WINNERS

Congratulations to all the winners of the 20th annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards  listed below. Professional Journalist Members of the JJA made open nominations in a first selection round; those who received the most nominations advanced to the final ballot.
2016 Nominees in all categories

Awards shown in photo are for 2014.

2016 JJA Jazz Awards for Musical Achievement

Note: We ask that you  DO NOT cut-and-paste or copy the winners list into your own blog or site, please link to this page instead. We, of course, welcome coverage and commentary on the list that includes some nominee names. If you blog about or report on the nominees we will be happy to link back to you; please send the URL of your blog post or report to admin@jazzjournalists.org

Henry Threadgill
Lifetime Achievement in Jazz:
Henry Threadgill

Maria Schneider
Musician of the Year:
Maria Schneider

Kamasi Washington
Up and Coming Artist of the Year:
Kamasi Washington

Maria Schneider Composer of the Year:
Maria Schneider

Maria Schneider
Arranger of the Year:
Maria Schneider

The Thompson Fields Maria Schneider Orchestra cover
 Record of the Year:
The Thompson Fields (ArtistShare)
Maria Schneider Orchestra

cover Erroll Garner Complete Concert by the Sea
Historical Record of the Year:
The Complete Concert By The Sea (Columbia/Legacy)
Erroll Garner

Motema Music
Record Label/Platform of the Year:
Motéma Music

Gregory Porter  Male Singer of the Year:
Gregory Porter

Cecile McLorin Salvant
Female Singer of the Year:
Cecile McLorin Salvant

Large Ensemble of the Year:
Maria Schneider Orchestra

Myra Melford's Snowy Egret
Midsize Ensemble of the Year: 
Myra Melford's Snowy Egret

Vijay Iyer Trio
Trio or Duo of the Year:
Vijay Iyer Trio

Wadada Leo Smith
Trumpeter of the Year:
Wadada Leo Smith

Wycliffe Gordon
Trombonist of the Year:
Wycliffe Gordon

Anat Cohen  Multi-reeds Player of the Year:
Anat Cohen

Alto Saxophonist of the Year:
Rudresh Mahanthappa

Charles Lloyd
Tenor Saxophonist of the Year:
Charles Lloyd

 Gary Smulyan Baritone Saxophonist of the Year:
Gary Smulyan

Jane Ira Bloom Soprano Saxophonist of the Year:
Jane Ira Bloom

Nicole Mitchell Flutist of the Year:
Nicole Mitchell

Anat Cohen  Clarinetist of the Year:
Anat Cohen

Mary Halvorson
Guitarist of the Year:
Mary Halvorson

Fred Hersch
Pianist of the Year:
Fred Hersch

Craig Taborn
Keyboards player of the Year:
Craig Taborn

Christian McBride Bassist of the Year:
Christian McBride

 Regina CarterViolinist/Violist/Cellist of the Year: 
Regina Carter

Pedrito Martinez Percussionist of the Year:
Pedrito Martinez

Joe Locke
Mallets Instrumentalist of the Year:
Joe Locke

Traps Drummer of the Year:
Jack DeJohnette

Scott Robinson
Player of Instruments Rare 
in Jazz of the Year:
Scott Robinson, various

Jason Lindner Electronics Player of the Year:
Jason Lindner

Each of these 2016 JJA Jazz Award winners will receive the Award at one of his or her upcoming performances.

2016 JJA Jazz Awards for Journalism and Media

Winners in the following categories were announced at the JJA Jazz Awards Party on June 15, 2016 at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City.

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
Ted Panken
Ted receives award from JJA President Howard Mandel at Jun 15 Awards party. Photo: Bonnie Johnson. 

Jazz Periodical of the Year
(new category this year; combines the previous Jazz Publication of the Year and Jazz Website of the year categories)
DownBeat Marketing Director Ritchie Deraney accepts the award. Photo: Bonnie Johnson

Jazz Blog of the Year
Ethan Iverson: Do the Math
Ethan Iverson receives his award. Photo: Bonnie Johnson

Jazz Book of the Year
Billie Holiday: The Musician and the Myth
 (Viking/Penguin Publishing Company), by John Szwed

Robert Palmer-Helen Oakley Dance Award for Excellence in Writing in 2015
Nate Chinen

 Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting in the Year 2015
Linda Yohn WEMU 
Linda Yohn at Jun 15 Awards partyphoto:  Bonnie Johnson. 

Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award for Photography in the Year 2015
Ken Franckling

Jazz Photo of the Year
Patrick Marek- Lucian Dubuis

Jazz Album Art of the Year (new category this year)
Kamasi Washington - The Epic (Brainfeeder)
Photo by Mike Park

2016 Nominees in all categories 

2016 JJA Jazz Heroes were also named  in twenty-three locales around the U.S. 

You can help the Jazz Journalists Association continue to get the word out about jazz through programs like the JJA Jazz Awards. Please make a donation. Contributions of any size, no matter how small, are gratefully accepted. Or become a JJA Member. Membership is open to jazz musicians, educators, presenters, promoters, publishers or anyone who wants to support our work as well as professional jazz journalists. For further information contact President@JazzJournalists.org Thanks.