2020 JJA Jazz Awards Nominees Announced

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the nominees for the 2020 JJA Jazz Awards, which celebrate excellence in music and music journalism in thirty-nine awards categories. Topping the list of nominees are Roscoe Mitchell, Charles Lloyd, Carla Bley, Eddit Palmieri, Chick Corea and Jimmy Cobb for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and Ben Ratliff, Larry Blumenfeld, Howard Reich, Stanley Crouch, and Dan Ouellette for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism. Complete nominee list.

 JJA Professional Journalist members are voting now for 2020 Jazz Awards winners, who will be announced online at JJAJazzAwards after May 1; most will receive their engraved statuettes publicly at their summer performances across the U.S.