2019 JJA Jazz Awards Nominees Announced

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the nominees for the 2019 JJA Jazz Awards, which celebrate excellence in music and music journalism in thirty-nine awards categories. Topping the list of nominees are Ron Carter, Chick Corea, Ahmad Jamal, Harold Mabern and Pharoah Sanders for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and Nate Chinen, Eugene Holley, Jr., Dan Ouellette, Ben Ratliff and John Szwed for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism. Complete nominee list.

 JJA Professional Journalist members are voting now for 2019 Jazz Awards winners, who will be announced online at JJAJazzAwards about May 1; most will receive their engraved statuettes publicly at their summer performances across the U.S.