Nominations open for 2015 JJA Jazz Awards

The process of selecting this year's winners of the annual Jazz Journalists Association awards for jazz musicianship and jazz journalism has begun. The two hundred Professional Journalist members of the JJA can submit nominations until March 18 in the following categories:

2015 Award Categories
Music & Recording Awards
Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
For an enduring musical career
Previous winners are ineligible: Dave Brubeck, Benny Carter, Ornette Coleman, Roy Haynes, Andrew Hill, Hank Jones, Lee Konitz, John Lewis, Marian McPartland, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Cecil Taylor, Clark Terry, Jimmy Heath, Horace Silver, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock
Jazz Musician of the Year
For creative, productive excellence in the year 2014

Up-and-coming Musician  of the Year
For artists who have recorded no more than three CDs as a leader.
Composer of the Year
For original works heard on recordings and/or in performance in 2014
Arranger of the Year
For orchestrating and realizing pre-composed works in performance and/or on recordings in 2014
Record of the Year
For CDs, vinyl, or digital recordings recorded whole or in part during the past three years (since 2012), issued during calendar year 2014.
Historical Record of the Year
For CDs, vinyl, or digital recordings recorded at least 10 years ago (prior to 2004), issued during calendar year 2014.
Record Label/New Recording Platform of the Year
Includes record labels and other platforms for issuance and accessibility of new musical content available to the public for free or charge.
Large Ensemble of the Year (11 or more performers)
Midsized Ensemble of the Year (four to ten performers)
Trio or Duo of the Year
Male Vocalist of the Year
Female Vocalist of the Year
Trumpeter of the Year (includes cornet and flugelhorn)
Trombonist of the Year
Multi-Reeds Player of the Year
For instrumentalists who characteristically perform and record on a bevy of reeds and/or winds
Alto Saxophonist of the Year
Tenor Saxophonist of the Year
Baritone Saxophonist of the Year
Soprano Saxophonist of the Year
Flutist of the Year
Clarinetist of the Year
Guitarist of the Year
Pianist of the Year
Keyboards Player of the Year
Includes organ, synthesizer, harmonium, etc.
Bassist of the Year
Includes upright and electric instruments
Violinist/Violist/Cellist of the Year
Percussionist of the Year
Mallets Instrumentalist of the Year
Traps Drummer of the Year
Player of Instruments Rare in Jazz
For double reeds, brass, strings, harmonica, melodica, accordion, etc. not mentioned elsewhere on this ballot.
Electronics player of the Year
For laptops, samples, etc. not including keyboards, synthesizer, organ or those covered in the above categories
Awards for Jazz Journalism
Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
Previous winners are ineligible: Whitney Balliett, Bob Blumenthal, Stanley Dance, Francis Davis, Gary Giddins, Ira Gitler, Nat Hentoff, Gene Lees, Howard Mandel, Dan Morgenstern, Doug Ramsey, Mike Zwerin, Don Heckman, Bill Milkowski, Amiri Baraka, Willard Jenkins, W. Royal Stokes

Print Periodical of the Year
Newspaper or magazine issued in print on a regular schedule
Website of the Year
Edited online publication providing regular coverage of jazz by multiple contributors in 2014
Blog of the Year
A stream of online posts, frequently updated, by a single author in 2014
Best Book About Jazz of the Year
Published in calendar year 2014
Best Liner Notes of the Year
For a single essay annotating a released recording.  NOTE:  You may NOT submit an essay written or produced by you.
Best Album Art/Album Cover Design
Identify by the album's artist, title, and label
The Helen Dance-Robert Palmer Award for Writing in 2014
For an individual writer's body of work within 2013, in print and/or on line. May include books, articles, essays, blog posts, reviews, record annotations
Previous winners include: Nate Chinen, 2006-2011, 2013-2014; Ben Ratliff, 2005; Bill Milkowski, 2004; Gary Giddins, 1999, 2002, 2003; Bob Blumenthal, 2001; Howard Mandel, 2000; Whitney Balliett, 1998; Larry Blumenfeld, 2012
The Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting in 2014
Previous winners: Michael Bourne, Rhonda Hamilton, Eric Jackson, Marian McPartland, Phil Schaap (2000, 2011), Steve Schwartz, Alyn Shipton, Dr. Billy Taylor, Neil Tesser, Kenny Washington, Nancy Wilson, Ben Young, Josh Jackson (2010, 2012), Jim Wilke (2013), DeeDee Bridgewater for JazzSet (2014)
The Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award for Photography
Previous winners: John Abbott, William Claxton, Enid Farber, Ken Franckling, William Gottlieb, Milt Hinton, Jimmy Katz, Herman Leonard, Gene Martin, Chuck Stewart, Lee Tanner, Jack Vartoogian, Mitchell Seidel, Herb Snitzer
Photo of the Year

Short Form Jazz News Video of the Year