2013 JJA Jazz Music Awards winners to be named May 1

Voting in the final round of the Jazz Journalists Association 2013 Jazz Awards closed yesterday, April 17, and ballots are now being counted to determine the winners in 37 categories of achievement in jazz musicianship and journalism. The names of the winners in the 26 music categories will be announced on May 1; the winners of the eleven journalism and media Awards will be announced at a Media Party at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City on June 19.

The music categories include Musician of the Year, for which the nominees are Anat Cohen, Chick Corea, Robert Glasper, Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith, and Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, with nominees Muhal Richard Abrams, McCoy Tyner, Randy Weston and Wayne Shorter. Nominees for the Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism Award are Ted Panken, W. Royal Stokes and Willard Jenkins.

Nominations in all categories were made in first round voting by the Professional Journalist Members of the Jazz Journalists Association; those named most often in each category became the finalists in the second, and last, voting round. Each category has at least three finalist nominees, more nominees were on the final ballot in the categories where some top-ranked nominees received the same number of votes in the first round.

  Complete list of 2013 JJA Jazz Awards Nominees.