2010 JJA Jazz Awards

Video of the 2010 JJA Jazz Awards recorded live on June 14, 2010 at City Winery in New York City.
Congratulations to all the winners, and many thanks to all those who attended the New York gala and satellite parties or who watched and celebrated in other places. And many many thanks to all our sponsors, supporters and volunteers who made it all happen.  For more about the Jazz Journalists Association and other upcoming events, please visit www.jjanews.org

  • to view full screen, click the box in lower right corner
  • the videostream can also be viewed at uStream


JJA Jazz Awards thanks ...

The Jazz Journalists Association thanks all those who made the 2010 Jazz Awards gala possible especially
The JJA Jazz Awards Committee
Howard Mandel, producer
Yvonne Ervin, associate producer, planning
JA Kawell, associate producer, online media
Elise Axelrad, associate producer, staging
Lois Mirviss, associate producer, volunteers
Colleen Growe, associate producer, fundraising
Joseph Petrucelli, assistant producer
John Abbott, photo awards
IBCreative, Inc., streaming online video
Karen Pica, program book art direction
Jim Eigo, Jazz Promo Services, nominees liaison
Don Lucoff, DL Media, public relations
Antje Huebner, Hubtone PR public relations
Joanne Robinson Hill, satellite party coordination
Whit Blauvelt, Forrest Bryant, David Alder, JJA websites
Ballot Committee: Ken Dryden, Laurence Donohue-Greene, Neil Tesser
Ed and Peggy Straus, Arrow Advertising
our Party Favors staffers
and our supporters and volunteers including
A.B. Spellman Adina Williams Alex Rodriguez André Ménard Andy Gilbert Anthony Polis Brian Camelio Brian McKenna Carolyn McClair Cary Goldberg Casey Conroy Chris Harrington Daniel Melnick (Chicago) Danny Melnick (Absolutely Live) Davey Yarborough Dawn DeBlaze Dawn Singh Dayla Santurri Farah Durosel Fernando Natalici Fran Kaufman Fred Jung G. Byron Speight George Wein Gwen Calvier Hayden Miller Heidi Schaeffer Ian Ralfini Ilan Lieman Jackie Jordan-Davis Jan Matthies Jana Herzen Jane Goldberg Jeffrey Levenson Jim deJong Jim Rockwell Joel Levin John Gilbreath Jon Hammond Josh Roseman Kaitlin Doorley Kevin Hatt Kim Smith Kirk Silsbee Kirpal Gordon Laurel Meyer Leslie Morgan Lloyd Peterson Lois Gilbert Luis Cardozo Marianne Pillsbury Mark Miller Martin Mueller Mary Fiance Fuss Mat Domber Matt Merewitz Memo Acevdeo Michael Dorf, Kathryn Thompson, Mark Colletti and all the staff of City Winery Michael Walz Micheal and Mikayla Gilbreath Michele Drayton Nancy Barrell Pam Sabrin Pauline Bilski Plus Loin Records Randall Kennedy Randy Klein Robbin Ahrold Russ Davis Sara A Schmidtchen Sara Phillips Sarah Humphries Sharon Bridges Sivia Loria Susan Muscarella Susana Sandoval Sy Johnson Terri Hinte Terri Pontremoli Tim duRoche Tim Komonchak Tom Guralnick Wayne Blanchard Wayne Segal William Brittelle


JJA Jazz Awards gala TODAY JUN 14 in NYC

Last chance to get your tickets for the 14th annual JJA Jazz Awards gala, to be held TODAY JUN 14 at City Winery in New York City. Buy your tickets online now if you haven't already! Can't be there? Go to one of the six Awards satellite parties,  watch the live streaming video  , or find out the winners by following #jjajazzawards on Twitter. Everything starts at 3:30pm EDT. 


Portland & Chicago: More satellite parties just added for JJA Jazz Awards

NOTE: THIS POST IS FOR 2010 PARTY. Email us at jazzawards@jazzjournalists.org  to help plan a 2011 party.

 Portland and Chicago have just joined the still growing list of locales where local jazz fans will gather on Monday June 14 to celebrate the JJA Jazz Awards at their own satellite parties.


JJA Jazz Awards gala LIVE video stream June 14

The June 14 JJA Jazz Awards gala will be "streamcast" LIVE online! No matter where you are, you'll be able to watch the awards presentations and musical performances as they happen on Monday June 14 at City Winery in New York City. In many places outside New York, jazz fans will be gathering at satellite parties to watch together and share the celebration.  The video stream,  produced by IB Creative, will begin at 3:30pm EASTERN time and will be available for viewing at the Jazz Awards Site, www.jjajazzawards.org, (on June 14) and at uStream


JJA Jazz Awards 2010 A Team and Jazz Heroes Named

 The Jazz Journalists Association has named eight new members to its "A Team" of  "Activists, Advocates, Altruists, Aiders and Abettors of Jazz,"  along with five "JJA Jazz Heroes," who have done exceptional work to support jazz at the local level.  The new A Team and Jazz Heroes will be honored at the June 14 JJA Jazz Awards gala in New York City and at satellite parties held simultaneously around the country.