2019 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Announced

Pianist Ahmad Jamal is celebrated for his Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism by the 2019 Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards -- the organization’s 24th annual celebration of excellence in jazz and jazz journalism. Saxophonist Wayne Shorter has been voted Musician of the Year, bassist Linda May Han Oh is Up and Coming Musician of the Year and West Side Story Reimagined by Bobby Sanabria’s Multiverse Big Band is Record of the Year, among recipients of Awards in 39 categories of jazz achievement and documentation in calendar year 2018, all posted at JJAJazzAwards.org.


2019 JJA Jazz Awards Nominees Announced

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the nominees for the 2019 JJA Jazz Awards, which celebrate excellence in music and music journalism in thirty-nine awards categories. Topping the list of nominees are Ron Carter, Chick Corea, Ahmad Jamal, Harold Mabern and Pharoah Sanders for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and Nate Chinen, Eugene Holley, Jr., Dan Ouellette, Ben Ratliff and John Szwed for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism. Complete nominee list.

 JJA Professional Journalist members are voting now for 2019 Jazz Awards winners, who will be announced online at JJAJazzAwards about May 1; most will receive their engraved statuettes publicly at their summer performances across the U.S.


2019 JJA Jazz Heroes Announced

Twenty-two "activists, advocates, altruists, aiders and abettors of jazz" in 20 U.S. cities were announced by the Jazz Journalists Association today as the organization's 2019 slate of Jazz Heroes. This year's Heroes, from Amherst, Massachusetts to Los Angeles, California, Seattle to South Florida, are all presenters, educators, non-profit administrators, public faces of grassroots organizations and in several cases active players sustaining and developing America's native-born music in their local communities and beyond. View the complete list of honorees, with photo portraits and biographies, here.


2019 JJA Jazz Awards Nominations Underway

The 2019 JJA Jazz Awards season has begun: Professional Journalist members of the Jazz Journalists Association are now making nominations for 2019 awards in music/recording and jazz journalism. Nominations close March 31 and as soon as the finalist nominees are tabulated,  members will vote for the 2019 winners, who will be announced in May.

Preparations are also being made to announce the 2019 Jazz Hero honorees.


2018 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Named

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the winners of the 22nd annual JJA Jazz Awards for music, recording, journalism and media.

Leading the 2018 honoree are saxophonist-composer Benny Golson, honored for his Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, and writer-researcher-historian Patricia Willard, the first woman to be celebrated for her Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism by the JJA. Other notable 2018 Jazz Awards winners include drummer Matt Wilson as Musician of the Year and for Record of the Year, Honey and Salt: Music Inspired by the Poetry of Carl Sandburg (Palmetto Records), and Fred Hersch, Pianist of the Year and author of Book of the Year About Jazz for his memoir, Good Things Happen Slowly: A Life In and Out of Jazz (Crown Archetype).  Complete 2018 winners list